

180 Andrews Street P. O. Box 520 Massena, N. Y. 13662-0520 315-764-3200



Thursday, November 3, 2011

Contact: Vicki Garcia Telephone: (315) 764-3208

## Media Advisory

## Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation Employees Honored by the U.S. Secretary of Transportation

(Washington, DC) The U.S. Secretary of Transportation, Ray LaHood, honored Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation (SLSDC) employees from both Massena, New York and Washington, DC at the 44<sup>th</sup> Annual Department of Transportation (DOT) Secretary's Award Ceremony held today in Washington, DC at DOT headquarters. The Secretary recognized employees and teams who have performed in an exemplary manner to meet the Department's strategic goals and accomplish its mission.

SLSDC Engineering, Maintenance, and Procurement staff from Massena, New York, were presented a Team Award for the implementation of four major projects to improve the U.S. lock infrastructure, the first significant improvements since the Seaway was constructed in the 1950s. "The Winter Work and Asset Renewal Implementation Team has been instrumental in managing the first large-scale infrastructure renewal projects in the history of the Seaway," said SLSDC Administrator Collister "Terry" Johnson. "As a result of the team's efforts, these projects were completed successfully, safely, and ahead of schedule." Representing the workforce team at the ceremony were Karl Livingston, Chief of the Maintenance Division; Dave Sanford, Civil Engineer; Fred Carter, President of AFGE Local 1968; and Pat White, Chief of Procurement and Supply.

Three employees in the SLSDC's Washington, DC office were also recipients of a Team Award. Anita K. Blackman, Chief of Staff; Nancy Alcalde, Director of Congressional and Public Relations; and Adam Schlicht, Management Analyst, served on the DOT Awards and Recognition Working Group, a cross-modal team comprised of representatives from each of the Department's Operating Administrations. The group was tasked to review DOT's awards and recognition programs, make recommendations to ensure policy consistency and fairness throughout the Department, and standardize the allocation of awards. "I am so pleased that these individuals were selected for recognition by Secretary LaHood. Their dedication and commitment to completing this challenging Department-wide project underscores the high quality of service that they routinely deliver." said Administrator Johnson. The Chair of the group, Anita Blackman, accepted the award on their behalf.

Additionally, Adam Schlicht, SLSDC Emergency Coordinator, was recognized for his contribution to the Emergency Response Team involved in the recent earthquake and hurricane events.

"The SLSDC has some of the most dedicated and professional employees in the Federal government and I join the Secretary in acknowledging their superior performance," said Administrator Johnson.



Administration Building FAX 315-764-3235

*Maintenance FAX* 315-764-3258

